Negativity Detox Series | Week One

I talked about focusing more on positivity and gratitude in my New Year, New Goals post and I think it’s my most successful goal so far.  Making a conscious effort to focus on my health holistically – physically, mentally, emotionally – has left me feeling more balanced and connected overall.

In order to be successful, I had to break down how I was living before and make mindful plans to improve. It’s so easy to make a goal and not stick to it – often because we don’t actually plan for how to do it, we just set the finish line.

I found when breaking down the steps I need to take, that they followed a common set of stages: Clear, create, cultivate.

First, I had to clear out whatever it was that was negative or unhealthy.

Next, I had to create a new structure to work with.

And finally, I had to cultivate the new ways of thinking and acting.

In the process of this, I naturally started my own sort of Negativity Detox and I found it so helpful, I thought I’d share it with you all here!

I broke the actions down into smaller steps so that I didn’t overwhelm myself, and I’m going to do the same with you. So, welcome to the Negativity Detox Series!

Detox had become this (ironically?) dirty word – focusing on quick fix solutions that promise to transform you if only you buy this super product. Please.

But, as I’ve said, taking the time to hit the restart button and change the way you approach life is definitely a beneficial process. As the natural world has seasons, so should we. We need to take time to lay dormant and then regrow, to rest and to bloom. To clear, create, and cultivate.

So, let’s get started.

Week 1 | Clean out your social media

We’re going to ease into this nice and easy.

As a socially awkward introvert, Social Media has been a godsend. It’s given me the ability to connect and discover in a way that I could have never achieved before. It enriches my life in countless ways. But the drawback of a platform that gives the whole world a voice is that it includes the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Too often we get consumed by the things we see online and instead of being the positive community it should be, it becomes a source of negativity for us. We compare ourselves to others, we second guess our voice, and we’re exposed to toxic opinions and outlooks.

But it’s so simple to fix that.

For the first part of the Negativity Detox, we’re going to focus on our online world and Social Media.

pexels-photo

The steps this week are:

1| Say goodbye to fake friends

I want you to really think about the people you’re aligned with online. How many of your Facebook friends do you actually talk to? How many do you actually enjoy seeing updates about? How many of them are people you had a couple of classes with in high school and keep around to nosy on? I’m guilty of this one in a major way. I have such a problem with emotionally disconnecting. It’s time to be brave and cut the string.

Go through your friends list and delete/unfriend anyone who doesn’t truly matter to you. Get rid of the people who only post negativity. Get rid of the people you never really liked in the first place but you felt awkward about not accepting their friend request. Stop caring what the number on your friends section says. It does not define you. You do not need fake friends and empty accounts to fulfil yourself.

2| Filter out the noise

Stop checking sites that cause you stress. Stop it.

Unfollow accounts, blogs, and tags that don’t interest you anymore, that make you second guess yourself but don’t prompt you to improve, that spark negative thoughts and feelings. Shake up the type and source of content you receive.

Extensions like Tumblr Saviour are a great way to filter things out. That way you can be in control of the content you see – you simply add keywords, like your triggers, and it either hides them behind a bar or removes them entirely from your dash. It stops you being ambushed and puts you back in control. It’s not about removing everything that makes you uncomfortable from your world – it’s about being in charge of how you respond to it. It’s ok to step back from the world once in a while and filter out some noise.

3| Hold the mail

I’m going to ask you to clear out your inbox now. I know for some of you this may be akin to climbing a mountain. I believe in you.

Once it’s clear, set up folders, categories, whatever your provider uses. Set up automatic sorting rules – when I enrolled at uni I set up an action that automatically sent anything from my uni’s address to a folder on its own so I knew straight away if I had anything that needed seeing to. It separated my ‘work’ from my home life and made it so much better. Once I got my uni designated email, I set up folders for classes and tutors.

I have folders for receipts and order confirmations, registrations, stuff from my family and friends, stuff from my shop. It all gets automatically sorted so my inbox never gets cluttered and confusing.

Unsubscribe from newsletters you don’t need to read, delete accounts, and unfollow updates you never read anyway.

4| Cultivate a new community

Now that you have a super clean, fresh space – why not fill it with better, bright stuff. Seek out positive sources – accounts that focus on self-care, growth, personal development, positive news, challenges, charities, and supportive people. Anything that inspires hope, positivity, happiness, and strength.

Look up your interests and find out if there’s a community for you to join that you wouldn’t usually try. Put out more positive content yourself! Tell people when they’re doing good work, drop an update when something positive happens to you – no matter how small or ordinary. Be the change you want to see.

I hope you all have a fantastic first week!

One thought on “Negativity Detox Series | Week One

Leave a Reply

