My Super Simple Skincare Routine

Oh, my skin. Not my favourite thing to deal with. I have a weird mix of super dry, super oily, super sensitive skin that makes finding decent products at a decent price complicated.

I’ve been trying to formulate a skin care routine that works for both me and my skin for years and never worked it out but I think I have it down!

I’m the worst at keeping habits so routines like this are hard for me, and so I try to keep it as simple as possible. At the moment my routine consists of 5 products, 3 of which are moisturisers because like I said, super dry, super sensitive.

Skincare Routine Cover.jpg

In the morning I wash my face with the Skin System Foaming Tea Tree Face Wash and then cleanse with my Clean & Clear Cleansing Lotion. After this I make sure to moisturise otherwise my skin will go on revolt.

During the day I aim to drink as much water as possible. This is so important to keeping my skin healthy and I could put all the stuff on my face that I want but if I’m not hydrating enough, it’s going to do nothing for me.

In the evening, I make sure to wash off my make-up and rinse my face in warm, then cool water. Right before I go to bed I’ll use the Clean & Clear cleanser again and moisture with one of the products depending on how dry my skin is that day.

And that’s it! Super simple, even I can keep to it.

skincare routine.jpg

Let’s look a little deeper at the products I use:

The Skin System Foaming Tea Tree Face Wash

love this face wash. I’ve tried a number of different washes and face scrubs over the years but never stuck to one as long as I have this Skin System one. I have exceptionally sensitive/reactive skin on my face so I have to be really careful what I use and this has never bothered me. In fact it soothes my skin – tea tree is a great ingredient for me.

The face wash is obviously foaming and so a little goes a long way. It leaves my skin feeling soft, smooth, and cleansed. I use it every morning and I’ve noticed my skin looks cleaner and brighter. It’s £2 for a 150 ml bottle which is so cheap.

Clean & Clear Deep Cleansing Lotion for Sensitive Skin

I’ve used this cleanser for a long time but not regularly and since I’ve come up with a proper routine, this has become my main cleanser. It’s so deep cleaning and leaves my skin feeling cool and clear. Even when I’ve properly cleaned my skin this cleanser will always pull out guck from my pores. That’s a technical term, by the way. The only thing I dislike about this cleanser is that you can’t use it anywhere near your eyes. You will cry. A lot. I get it for £2 for a 200 ml bottle so it’s cheap as chips.

Avon Naturals Milk & Honey Hand Cream

So while this is a hand cream, I do use it on my face. Again, my face is so sensitive I can’t use a lot of products on it but Avon has never ever let me down.This cream is so light but still moisture rich and it smells amazing. They also have a range of products with the same scent so if you like to keep your products consistent or limit your sensory input you can absolutely do that. While this tube is pretty small (75 ml) it goes a long way so it lasts. Also, I think I actually got this tube on sale for 99p. Bargain.

Burt’s Bees Naturally Nourishing Milk & Honey Body Lotion

Burt’s Bees, Burt’s Bees, Burt’s Bees, how I love thee. I bought some products for my mum awhile back when I read they could be good for her eczema and she loved them so much she bought me some right back. This especially is one of my favourites. It goes on sort of buttery but not thick and heavy which is perfect for my skin. I use it on my hands which tend to crack – I don’t have full-blown eczema like my mum but I do have really dry, sensitive skin so we tend to share products. It smells great and is really moisturising. It’s about £6 for a 70 ml tube, so on the pricier side on my products, but still definitely affordable and worth it.

Nivea Soft Refreshingly Soft Moisturising Cream

This is my absolute go to moisturiser. It’s light enough to use on my face but it will deep moisturise and stick around all day. I use it under my make up and also across my body as a general moisturiser and I am so happy with it. The tubs last forever and it’s silky and smells great. I’ve found the price tends to fluctuate a lot between shops but it’s usually between £4 and £5 for a 300 ml tub.

I’ve been wanting to try a face brush for a while and I’m looking into getting so under eye masks and working a semi-regular (maybe weekly?) face mask into my routine so I might have to do an updated post soon!

Do you have a great product to recommend? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “My Super Simple Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

