Super Easy Cinnamon Banana Loaf

Ever since my dad retired he’s become some sort of baking demon. I firmly blame his obsession with Great British Bake Off and having time on his hands for the first time in about 50 years. But hey, there’s always cake in the kitchen. In between the 70 recipe books we’ve accumulated.

Since finishing uni, I’ve also found myself with time on my hands. I mean, I know there was a time when I didn’t have essays to write, and books to mark, and lessons to prep, but it seems so long ago I’ve forgotten what I did with it all. So I’ve joined my dad in his baking.

img_5431

If you follow me on Instagram you’ve already seen the loaf I made. We had some bananas that were starting to spot and go a bit too squishy for my taste so I trawled through the mentioned hoarding of recipes and found one in Mary Berry’s 100 Cakes and Bakes. I tweaked the recipe a little because honestly, if I can put cinnamon in something, you bet I will.

Ingredients/Equipment:

  • 100g / 4oz softened butter
  • 175g / 6oz caster sugar
  • 225g / 8oz self-raising flour
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 ripe mashed bananas (3 if your bananas are on the small side like mine were)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 -2 tsp of ground cinnamon (depends on your taste).
  • Loaf tin
  • Wooden spoon or mixer

Steps:

  • Preheat the oven to 180°c/Gas Mark 4. I put my butter in to soften for a few minutes while I lined the loaf tin with grease-proof paper.
  • Measure the ingredients and combine dry ingredients in a mixing bowl. Make a well and add liquid ingredients. Mix well until combined.
  • Put it in the tin and bake for about an hour or until a knife comes out clean when poked through.

That’s it. Super easy. And it’s soooo yummy.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

